Ciclovida: The Cycle of Life, a Sevilla success

What if Lewiston downtown were blocked off from the blue bridge to  the point where the road merges to two way traffic and families were invited to ride, walk, roller skate and enjoy the trees and fountains at their leisure one Sunday each summer? It’s called a cyclovia and the idea started in South America and is taking root in some US Cities.–Corrie

With a traditional Spanish start, costumed rollerbladers excited the crowds until police gradually halted car traffic, paving the way for safe cycling through the city. My first large-scale bike parade, participating in the ride was fascinating and empowering. I felt alive. I felt like I belonged. Just as the Sevici bicycles belong to the Sevilla people, I felt like my Sevici bicycle and I were one, celebrating health and cycling.

via Bikeleague.org Blog » Blog Archive » Ciclovida: The Cycle of Life, a Sevilla success.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

