A Peacful Place to Cycle on the Coast

After STP, Ramrod, Rhapsody, and RSVP, I’ve sworn off west-side cycling, but should I find myself there and my bicycle avaiable I might try these King County roads.Corrie

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Biking Bis – Bicycle Touring and More :: Bicycl…, posted with vodpod

My quest to ride by bicycle down all of King County’s historic roads led me to a scenic stretch of pavement last week that I’ve pedaled along more than once.

What I hadn’t realized is that West Snoqualmie River Road dates back to among the earliest byways in the hills and valleys between Lake Washington and the Cascade Mountains and hasn’t changed that much over the years.

The “Dan Henrys” painted on the pavement for the Tour de Peaks and other rides attest to this lightly traveled roads’ popularity among bicyclists. It’s flat, winding, and passes organic vegetable farms, horse farms as well as dazzling fields of flowers grown for market.

Read More

