Urban-Rural Cycling: not so different

I picked this story up from Biking in Heels. She does her biking in Boston but pointed to this article for its effort to explain the conflicts between three modes of travel, motor, foot, and pedal. I was struck by how much of what he has to say applies to us. Stay to the right. Be predictable. Be assertive. These are good principles to follow whether in the big city or Lewiston.

Now about “splitting the lane” or “filtering.” This is the practice of a cyclist riding between two lanes of traffic going one way or creating a bike lane by passing on the right. Felix Salmon, author of this article says New York City has a law expressly requiring the practice. One of the comenters at the end point out that is not the case in other states.

This filtering is exactly what made me nervous in Vancouver. I was far closer to the gutter than I would like to be and in perfect position for a right hook to cut me off. I’d have felt better getting in line behind the cars and taking my turn.

Still Portland and Seattle have put in those green bike bays that encourage cyclists to use the bike lane to pass on the right and then take their place at the head of the line at the stop light. I’m not sure I’d like that if I was a driver who had just passed a cyclists only to watch him move in front of me at the light.

Still read the article to see that biking in traffic has the same issues whether big town or small.

A unified theory of New York biking

Sep 3, 2010 03:06 EDT

Most bikers in New York have their fair share of road rage. Commuting by bicycle in Manhattan has many things to be said for it, but it’s certainly not relaxing. And bicyclists as a group have surprisingly little public support. The question is, why? And I think I’ve worked out something approaching the Unified Theory of NewYork Biking:

Read More

