A flat tire in the Chihuahuan Desert

It was nearly dark. I was on my 29er mt. bike on 13th headed for Peasly on my way home one winter evening a few years ago when I flatted. No problem. I always carry spare tubes. I removed the wheel and the tire and was getting ready to put in the new tube when a fellow in a pickup asked if I needed a ride. No, I said. I’ve got it.

That was before I noticed my spare tube had a shrader valve but my rim had a hole only big enough for a presta tube. I called Linda and I found myself waiting on the side of the road after dark. That about 2.5 miles from home. Imagine the same experience in the desert on a loaded tour!

Thanks to Steve Largent for this post. He always runs shrader equipment so he’ll never have this problem.–Corrie

Imagine you’re on tour; It’s a long day – 80 miles through the desert and you’re somewhere in the middle on a road that may not have seen a car in days, maybe weeks. Suddenly you hear a loud pop from behind you. Yes, your riding partner has had a blowout and yes, he is out of spare tubes.

After digging through his repair kit, he manages to find a patch. He fixes his tube, mounts the wheel, inflates the tire, and then… breaks his Presta valve in half while removing the pump. The situation looks pretty bleak. You have spare tubes, but their wide Shraeder valves will not fit through the hole in his rim, which is only wide enough for a Presta.

You contemplate the idea, but then decide against riding off without him. So there you are in the middle of a desert, you have a broken valve stem, no spare tubes and an overdeveloped conscience. What do you do?

This is the story of such a problem, narrowly averted through an unconventional fix.

via MTBtour.org – Dedicated to Mountain Bike Touring!: A flat tire in the Chihuahuan Desert.

