Not just for racers!

I bought my first bike off the rack without much more than a short test ride. And what did I know about how my bike ride should feel? Nothing, really. I rode that Bianchi for over 30,000 miles and many centuries. It must have fit pretty darn well. I was lucky.

I think most people find a cheap bike or a used bike and ride it as is or they might even go to a bike shop where no one really understand how to fit a bike to the rider.

We may think fitting is only important for racers. It is just as important for recreational and transportation cyclists. Without proper fit, we’ll find riding painful and just quit.

Be sure to click through to the two videos.–Corrie

 

I got fit by Wade Hall at the Spokesman Bicycles in Santa Cruz, California. You can meet Wade and watch him explain what he does on some nice videos on his site: http://www.spokesmanbicycles.com/fitting/  I went to Wade because his shop sells Cervelo bicycles and I was ready to buy a P2 time trial bike. Also, he has an excellent reputation in the Bay Area cycling community as a top, experienced fitter. I’ve watched him in action at his shop and also seen him helping in YouTube videos of Fabian Cancellara and the Schleck brothers being fit to their Specialized bicycles last season.

via Issue No. 475 – 04/07/11: Cycling and Lower Back Pain | Road Bike Rider.

