Review: The Bicycle Book – Bella Bathurst

I suppose if it is raining, I could just stay home and read. . . Corrie

There is much to like here, a lip-smacking amount. First up, at her best, Bathurst is a cracking writer, with just what I had hoped I’d find: takes on bits of cycling I didn’t know about, perfectly described, and refreshing visits to areas that are so familiar I need to be reminded of them again. The chapter on frame-building which opens the book is a marvelous description of a world that is slowly disappearing. Getting under the skin of Charly Wegelius, a super-domestique who will never get the recognition he deserves, is a task that needed doing.

via Review: The Bicycle Book – Bella Bathurst | road.cc | The website for pedal powered people: Road cycling, commuting, leisure cycling and racing. Voted the UK’s number 1 cycling website at the 2010 BikeBiz awards..

