Rapt Cycling Advocacy: The world is still here. Enjoy it by bike | Commute by Bike

Saturday, May 21st was my birthday. I was riding from Chelan to Omak along with Jim Kenyon and about 40 new friends. Saturday was also the forecast date of the rapture. I thought the alignment of cataclysm (I expect to be left behind), my birthday and my favorite pursuit fortuitous.

Turns out it is also an ocassionl to think about bicycle advocacy–Corrie

James Watt held fairly radical anti-environmental positions, but his positions and rationale were familiar to people who follow these issues. But during his confirmation hearing in the Senate, Watt laid bare his underlying belief on environmental protection:

I do not know how many future generations we can count on before the Lord returns, whatever it is we have to manage with a skill to leave the resources needed for future generations.

Watt brought into focus for me the mindset that says that long-term thinking about society and the environment is a waste of time.

via Rapt Cycling Advocacy: The world is still here. Enjoy it by bike | Commute by Bike.

