Through a Darkness: Or, the Way of the Bike: Or, Purchasing my New Bike – BikeHacks

Do you remember your first bike? Of course you do. Even my mom’s old balloon tired cruiser was a symbol of freedom to me as a boy. I never had a bike other than that which did provide me some embarrassing moments–it was a girl’s bike. My first adult bike come over 20 years later when I came to the valley. I bought a used Schwinn 10 speed.

This series about returning to the bike doing urban riding in NYC from Bike Hacks looks pretty fun. The decisions he has to make about drop bars or straight bars is fun and the entire issue of having a cool bike plays heavily.–Corrie

 

As a young boy in the hilly suburbs of Pittsburgh, I always enjoyed riding on my top-of-the-line steed from Toys “R” Us.  Boys grow up, however, and I don’t remember doing any biking by the time I reached high school.  After college I moved to New York City, where I currently reside, and I didn’t think of biking at all.  I love exploring the city and the outlying areas, but this was always done on foot – sometimes I would walk 30 miles.  It never occurred to me to get a bike.

via Through a Darkness: Or, the Way of the Bike: Or, Purchasing my New Bike – BikeHacks.

