Fix-Curious? An Experiment in Fixed-Gear Commuting – Part 2 | Commute by Bike

Okay, single speed’s are one thing. At least they have a free-wheel for coasting. But a fixed gear commuter bike?  Think about all those times you stand to cruise around a corner or prepare to jump a small curb. Those pedals are either level or canted for the turn and not turning. But this never happens on a fixie unles you are standing still. Scary.–Corrie

 

 

 

Curbs and cornering: Tight cornering and jumping curbs requires a little more awareness, as you can’t momentarily stop pedaling or position your inside foot when cornering. However, while this was a major concern starting out, I’ve found it to be no more than a minor issue.

via Fix-Curious? An Experiment in Fixed-Gear Commuting – Part 2 | Commute by Bike.

1 Comment

  1. croickku said,

    June 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    I regularly commute on my Fixie and absolutely love it. Initially, cornering scared me but now I even pedal through corners on my roadie…


