Hand Wash Bike Hack – BikeHacks

Jennifer slowed to a stop. It was obvioius. She had dropped a chain.

We had just crested the hill out of Boville headed fro Elk River. This was her first ride with the club and perhaps her first signifcant off the trail ride. She had explained much of her training had been on a trainer.

When she flipped the bike over instead of just lifting the chain back on, I was a bit surprised.

“You don’t have to do that, you know,” I said.

You sometimes can shift up while pedaling gently to get the chain to reseat itself.  Sometimes backpedaling will alos do the trick if the chain hasn’t completely fallen off outside the big chain ring.

If that doesn’t work, you usually must resort to handling that greasy chain with your fingers. “Some people carry wipes, for the purpose,” I offered.

Here’s another solution.–corrie

Thanks for the tip Phil.  From my side of things, for years I have been employing a rather simple hack to solve “dirty hand syndrome.”  Sometimes on the way to work my chain will come off or I will get a flat.  The repair is often messy and the last thing I want to do is go to a meeting at work with grease all over my hands and under my finger nails.

via Hand Wash Bike Hack – BikeHacks.

