Traffic Talk: What are the rules for bicycles on the road? | MLive.com

This column is in reference to Michigan traffic law but it is essentially the same in Idaho and Washington. Idaho code also uses the FRAP rule (as far right as is practicable0. Washington says “possible” in the same place.

It looks like there are going to be more columns on this subject. I like to read them from time to time just to make sure I have it right.

Impeding traffic is a grey area. I like to speed up to get to a corner quicker so I can signal safe passing or slow down to give the passing vehicle more time beat me to the corner. However, doing this requires making a judgement about how fat your relative speeds might be.

Sometimes I get passed when I think there isn’t room but there turns out to be plenty. Judgement calls are just that–judgement calls. Don’t bet your life on one.

So, with that in mind, I’ll sometimes pull off the road entirely if I can’t find a way to facilitate the passs especially if I might be holding up several cars by taking the lane. Of course, sometimes there just isn’t any place to get off of the road. Then taking the lane is your only option–scary.

For the most part you know that drivers are pretty courteous nost of the time. –Corrie

OK, here we go: Sharing the road with bikes.

This issue seems to come up in the comments of Traffic Talk no matter what the topic of the column is. A reader named Joe put it best when he sent an email in May:

via Traffic Talk: What are the rules for bicycles on the road? | MLive.com.

