Bicycle commuting down slightly, but big cities make gains

Commuting is hard in this valley. No, not the drivers. Mostly they are cooperative. It’s those hills. I’m teaching a smart cycling class this week. The road poriton will start on Normal Hill at LCSC but I want to take my troops to Clarkston and downtown Lewiston. Somehow we’ll need to get back to LCSC. We could ride around the bike path to Southway. Two reasonable options exist there since the addition of a traffic island to help get pedestrian and bike traffic across Southway.

But that is a long way around. Could we climb Normal Hill from downtown? I’ve ridden up 5th street a couple of times but I wouldn’t want to do it on a regular commute. I suppose we could walk our bikes this one time. I’ve tried just about every route available from Prospect Avenue to 17th. The pitch and length decrease going east. Bill Arnold says 21st street is a reasonable option but I wouldn’t want to take it on a Saturday afternoon. The other routes require some twisting and turning and each has at least one short but steep climb.

Commuting in Lewiston is hard. But it can be done. How’s commuting fairing naitionally? Here are the numbers–Corrie

Fewer people traveled to work by bicycle in 2010 than the year before, the US Census Bureau reports, although bicycle use has skyrocketed over the past decade.

via Biking Bis – Bicycle Touring and More :: Bicycle commuting down slightly, but big cities make gains.

