Cle Elum to Thorp: Bicycling the Upper Yakima River Canyon on John Wayne Pioneer Trail

I wonder if my eyes would serve on a gravel trail? Might want to get the mountain bike out and try this route some day.–Corrie

It was an unexpected scenic treasure on my explorations by bicycle between trail heads in the Iron Horse State Park this fall.

I expected a dusty, exposed route across flat prairie on this segment between Cle Elum and Thorp. Instead, the rail-trail follows the meandering Yakima River as it cuts through ancient volcanic rock on its way to the Columbia River.

My 41-mile bicycling loop started at South Cle Elum, where the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific Railroad rail yard is preserved. The rail trail heads east past some back yards through a low area with cattails and such.

via Biking Bis – Bicycle Touring and More :: Cle Elum to Thorp: Bicycling the Upper Yakima River Canyon on John Wayne Pioneer Trail.

