Passing distance vs distance from curb » Cyclelicious

“you ride pretty far out in the road,” said my running buddy and sometime cycling companion.

This was years ago. He was talking about seeing me riding up Tammany. I felt a little defensive. I didn’t want to appear careless to him. He was both friend and colleague as well as a long time running buddy.

Tammany has no reliable shoulder and can often have a great deal of traffic. In recent years it has seen a number of gravel trucks too.

Where should the cyclist ride?

Today I would tell my buddy that I ride in the right-hand tire track because that is the safest place to avoid road debris along the edge  of the road and be seen as a “vehicle” by motorists.

There are vehicular cyclists who would argue that you shouldn’t move over or even look behind you. I’m not willing to go that far. I’m quite happy xlowing so the passing vehicle can get by me before the corner. Or, if there isn’t passing room before the corner, I might accelerate to get around the corner waving the passing vehicle on when I see the road is clear.

I find those gravel trucks really do give me more room passing than other vehicles. I ‘ve even received a friendly tap of the horn as they pass appreciative of my efforts to accommodate the pass.

Sharing the Road is a dance which requires coordination with all the partners. My right to the road should not give me the right to irgnore faster moving traffic anyomore than “right to the road” gives faster moving traffic the right to rage at my presence.

 

 

A little more interesting to me, and probably more relevant from a safety standpoint: FDOT researchers found car and truck drivers gave more passing room for cyclists who ride further out from the curb, up to a certain point.

via Passing distance vs distance from curb » Cyclelicious.

