Dealing with Dogs

Saturday seemed perfect for Lapwai Loop. This route takes us past several places occupied by dogs. Now I have ridden this route without ever having a dog do more than yip a couple of pro-forma yips as I passed.

Today, however, Donna was with us. Every place on my list of noted dog presences actually plroduced a dog. None gave serious chase and were easily discouraged. So it is time for another post on handling the dog. This one from Commute by Bike includes a link to the famous essay by Mark Twain who offers his own take on handling dogs. –Corrie

 

My approach to dogs has developed out of two formative experiences. First is that I’ve almost always had at least one dog in my life, so I’m not afraid of them. Well, rarely afraid of them.

The second formative experience is from my puttering around Cameroon with a farm bike for two-and-a-half years.

via Dealing with Dogs | Commute by Bike.

