Four Things I Forgot about Winter Bike Commuting (In Eight Short Months) | Commute by Bike

Boy, am I glad I don’t bike commute. We have bright skies in the valley recently. I got 40 miles of recreational riding in on Thursday, but Friday, though sunny, was accompanied by strong west winds. I settled for 20 miles rather than my usual 30.

And had there been snow? Well, I would have stayed in my Lazy Boy with Chuck the cat. He’d have been happy.

Even regular commuters need to do a little prepartion for the coldest and wettest rides.–corrie

 

This morning I got my mountain bike out of mothballs. It still had the studded snow tires on it from last winter, which means that I haven’t been on this poor neglected bike in about eight months.

First, let me list the few things that I got right:

via Four Things I Forgot about Winter Bike Commuting (In Eight Short Months) | Commute by Bike.

