Bicycles, Rolling Stops, and the Idaho Stop

I first saw this video a few years ago when Portland cyclists were promoting passage of a similar law in Oregon. The law did not pass. It did not even have the full support of all cyclists. We don’t want to make cyclist appear to have secial rights.Siince I ride in Idaho but practice the Idaho Stop law at most stop signs I see in Washington, I appreciate the support this video gives me. On the other hand, I’m reluctant to take advantage of that law even in Idaho. For example there’s a stop light on a one way street in downtown Lewiston. It is a t-intersection which means when the light goes red there is no traffic to my right and frequently not even any traffic from the left. Yet I stand there one foot down waiting for the green light with cars lined up behind me. It occurs to me that the Idaho stop law allows the cyclist (me) roll through this intersection but not the motorists behind me. Would my riding through be perceived as a right or an abuse by the motorist behind me Just another scofflaw cyclist!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Bicycles, Rolling Stops, and the Idaho Stop, posted with vodpod

