Old Man Warner, Cycling Opponent | Commute by Bike

I didn’t know I was being persuaded by a bicycle advocae when I read the Lottery.

I’m not ready to give up my license and stop driving. But do I regret the decision to build a huge Walmart in Clarkston with an even more huge asphalt parking lot. This is not bike/pedestrian friendly. It is scarcely car-friendly. The next step is going to building conveyor belt walkways to the far ends of the parking lot. We can do better.–Corrrie

Recognize this quote?

“Pack of crazy fools,” he said. “Listening to the young folks, nothing’s good enough for them. Next thing you know, they’ll be wanting to go back to living in caves, nobody work any more, live that way for a while.”

If you graduated from high school, you were likely required at some point to read (or watch) Shirley Jackson’s short story, The Lottery.

via Old Man Warner, Cycling Opponent | Commute by Bike.

