Cyclelicious » Strava SNAP: Fix GPS data to track roads

Strava is everywhere these days. Kind of fun to see who’s fastest among friends and certainly another good way to log your miles. I was unaware of the inaccuracy of phone GPS. This first map looks a bit like the old point-and-click maps I made. I didn’t always hit the road with each click making it look like I’d cut off the road to shorten the corner. Now there’s a tool to correct the inefficiencies of phone GPS. –Corrie

 

I use my mobile phone’s GPS to track my bike rides which I then upload to Strava. Unlike purpose built GPS devices, phone GPS can be wildly inaccurate, especially in the steep valleys I often ride through in the Santa Cruz Mountains. The results uploaded to Strava can look like this.

via Cyclelicious » Strava SNAP: Fix GPS data to track roads.

