Bicycling: Are you a Fred? | The Bis Key Chronicles

Those who ride road bikes and those who prefer mountain bikes often tease each other. In fact there is a good deal of overlap. But we do find ways to categories one another and they are not always complimentary ways.

I first heard the term “Fred” from a friend on the Oregon Bike Ride. He is a Portland cyclist about my edge. He was nearly always first into camp each day, rode without a mirror, or any seat-post or handlebar bags and was garrulous to a fault. He meant nothing by it, but to him I was a fred with both seat and handlebar bags and a prominent mirror.

But one day we went out together. I think he was a bit disappointed to find me waiting at the tops of the hills. But he was good about it. –Corrie

Wikipedia: Fred is a derisive term used by “serious” road cyclists to describe other cyclists who do not conform to serious road cyclists’ norms with regard to dress and equipment, and appear amateurish to them. The term is generally reserved for men, while the female Fred is sometimes called a “Doris.”

via Bicycling: Are you a Fred? | The Bis Key Chronicles.

1 Comment

  1. Gandalfe said,

    April 18, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Hey, thanks for the ping and for reading my blog. I may be a Fred on the bicycle, but I’m a Boots on the sax. ;O)